The determination of residency classification for tuition purposes is governed by statues enacted by the Texas Legislature and rules and regulations promulgated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). Texas law classifies each person who applies for admission to a Texas public college or university as a resident of Texas, a nonresident, or a foreign (international) student.
When students apply for admission, the university uses information they provided on the application to make an initial determination about residency. If your residency has been determined to be Out of State based on the Texas Education Code, and you believe you should be considered an In State resident you will need to fill out and submit the Residency Questionnaire to the Residency Determination Officer for Texas A&M University - Texarkana.
Individuals can establish residency in the following three ways:
Option 1: Residency through High School Graduation
The option of establishing Texas residency is available to citizens or permanent residents of the U.S. and to international students who hold certain types of visas.
To establish residency through high school graduation, you must:
1. Graduate from a Texas high school or receive a GED in Texas; and
2. Live in Texas for the 36 months immediately before high school graduation; and
3. Live in Texas for the 12 months immediately before the census date (usually the 12thclass day) of the semester in which you enroll TAMUT.
Option 2: Establishing and Maintaining Domicile in the state of Texas
The following persons are considered residents of this state if:
1. a person:
a. established domicile in this state not later than one year before the census date of the academic term in which the person is enrolled in an institution of higher education; and
b. maintained that domicile continuously for the year preceding that census date;or
2. a dependent whose parent:
a. established a domicile in this state not later than one year before the census date of the academic term in which the dependent is enrolled in an institution of higher education; and
b. maintained that domicile continuously for the year preceding that census date; and
Option 3: Continuous Enrollment
Texas residency can be granted to a person who:
a. was previously enrolled and classified as a Texas resident in a public institution of higher education; and
b. maintained continuous enrollment, or did not break enrollment for more than one regular semester.
Option 4: International Students
Generally, students holding F-1 visas are not eligible to be considered Texas residents for tuition purposes. Due to the nature of the F-1 visa, F-1 visa holders are not eligible to domicile (see list below) and do not qualify for a resident classification. However, if a student with an F-1 visa also has an application for permanent residence (1-485 application) pending with United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), the student may be eligible to have their tuition charged at the resident tuition rate. The general requirements for establishing Texas residency will apply to these students.
Eligible Visa Types
Students on visa types that are eligible to establish domicile in the United States may be eligible for Texas residency.
Option 5: Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)
In accordance with USCIS, "An individual who has received deferred action is authorized by The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to be present in the United States, and is therefore considered by DHS to be lawfully present during the period that deferred action is in effect." The general requirements for establishing residency will apply to these students. They will be required to fill out an affidavit stating they will at some point fill seek permanent residency. If they are already a Permanent Resident we only need a copy, front and back, of the permanent resident card.
Students who are not Texas residents may be able to pay the same tuition as a Texas Resident depending on where they live. Visit our Non-Resident Classification page to see what tuition and fee rate you will be paying.
If you have further questions not listed on our website or on the Residency FAQ page please contact our campus Residency Officer, Chrissy Gonzalez, at email@example.com or 903.223.3180. You can also visit Enrollment Services in the University Center for further assistance.
A student who resides in a state other than Texas, is considered a non-resident.
Senate Bill 1272 may allow students residing in Oklahoma, Arkansas, certain counties in New Mexico, or certain parishes in Louisiana to receive a waiver to pay a lowered non-resident tuition. Please review the information below to see if you qualify for this waiver.
In-State Tuition Rate
A non-resident student who resides in Oklahoma, Arkansas, certain parishes in Louisiana (see below), and certain counties in New Mexico (see below) will receive the in-state tuition rate.
Arkansas-All counties in Arkansas
Oklahoma-All counties in Oklahoma
Border Parish Louisiana-Bordering parishes listed below
- Beauregard Parish
- Caddo Parish
- Calcasieu Parish
- Cameron Parish
- DeSoto Parish
- Sabine Parish
- Vernon Parish
Border County New Mexico-Bordering counties listed below
- Union County
- Quay County
- Curry County
- Roosevelt County
- Lea County
- Eddy County
- Otero County
- Dona Ana County
In-State Tuition Rate plus $30.00 per credit hour
A non-resident student who resides in the 44 contiguous states including all other counties in New Mexico and all other parishes in Louisiana will pay the in-state tuition rate plus $30.00 per credit hour.
Foreign Student Tuition Rates
In accordance with Section 54.051(d) of the “Texas Education Code,” the university will set the tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for academic year 2014-2015 at $412.00 per semester credit hour (SCH) plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition the institution charges. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. Those students can find the tuition rates in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the “Texas Education Code.”